Prof Raina MacIntyre awarded Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science and Innovation

News | Published on 01 Sep 2022

Professor Raina MacIntyre has been awarded the prestigious Department of Defence Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science and Innovation at the Eureka Prizes award ceremony last night. It is one of 14 Eureka Prizes across four categories awarded annually by the Australian Museum. 

The Department of Defence Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science and Innovation is awarded to an individual who has ‘successfully integrated their scientific expertise with the leadership skills necessary to nurture, inspire and mobilise their peers’.

Prof. MacIntyre is a world-leading researcher on respiratory protective devices, pandemics, smallpox, and emerging infectious diseases. She leads a NHMRC Centre for Research Excellence in airborne threats to health and an automated, artificial intelligence-powered open source rapid epidemic intelligence observatory (EPIWATCH), which detects early signals of serious epidemics globally.

“This Eureka Prize is an outstanding recognition of Professor McIntyre's leadership, especially in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Kirby Institute Director, Professor Anthony Kelleher. “In a globalised world that is so connected by technology, Professor MacIntyre has leveraged that interconnection to gain important information about potential epidemics that will enable us all to be better prepared when the next global health crisis occurs. It is an innovative approach that is deserving of this award.”

Prof. MacIntyre served as UNSW Head of the School of Public Health and Community Medicine from 2008-2018; expanding the School from 400 to over 1200 students and developing an international reputation for research and teaching excellence. 

“Leadership in science is about being true to your original ideas and pursuing them in the face of obstacles and striving to be yourself rather than coveting what someone else is doing. It is also about mentoring and building the next generation of diverse researchers and providing them opportunities for growth,” Prof. MacIntyre said. “UNSW has given me many opportunities and a vibrant, collaborative environment for research. I am grateful for this recognition and to be doing what I love with an amazing team, superb collaborators and a home at the Kirby Institute.”

A full list of the 2022 Eureka Prize recipients can be found on the Australian Museum website.